More Tools for the Tool Kit

For the journey ahead and its tasks I realize that will need more than my first wand. I have begun collecting magical herbs and plants. These make fine drinks in the morning, by the way, along with morning coffee. I have also pulled out my old tarot deck. Years ago I learned how to tell fortunes using the tarot, and did so at parties, for fun. I turned out quite good at it. Eventually I tired of it and put it away. I have taken out the deck again, but not to tell fortunes. I will use it to obtain knowledge of things that are hidden from me, either by secrecy or by distance. I have also come to realize that my first wand, which I consecrated for giving blessings and protection, should be used mainly for those purposes. It should also be used in my meditations. But I will also need an attack wand. In a pinch, any handy object may be used as a wand, for any purpose. Or one may even just use one’s finger. But an object consecrated for a purpose and used only for that purpose acquires spiritual value, and hence power. So I have made an attack wand, from a branch already cut by someone else. Its tip was a bud that was about to blossom, it’s perfectly straight, and I’ve retained the bark.

Tarot
My old tarot deck. Dug out and blessed with holy water.

On Whether or Not a Wand Should be Varnished

Some claim that varnishing a wand or staff in some way diminishes its power. One in fact may test this, and it seems to be true. I casually picked a fallen branch, and peeled and dried it, but did not consecrate it to any purpose. Thinking nothing, but holding it in my right hand and pointing the tip at my open left hand, I instantly felt a warm glow in my left palm. Then taking my first consecrated, varnished wand in my right hand, I similarly pointed it at my left palm, but felt nothing. Then giving my wife Veronica Chiari permission to touch the consecrated wand, I asked her to hold it in her right hand and to aim it at my open left hand. Again, I felt nothing. Then taking the wand from her, I asked my wife to close her eyes, open her left hand, and I, thinking of nothing, pointed the wand at her open palm. No reaction. Then I pointed the wand away, then pointed it back again. This time I concentrated on sending my energy through the wand and towards her palm. “OW” she yelled, pulling her hand back: “it’s hot!” Wide-eyed, she described how it felt: like touching a machine that has been working long and hard and has turned very hot. I was a bit surprised myself, actually.

But here’s my conclusion. Wood really has the natural ability to absorb, conduct, and emit psychic energies. Varnishing the wood obstructs that natural ability. However, if a wand has been consecrated to your purpose, then whether or not it is varnished, that wand will do your will when you will it. So, should one varnish a wand? For healing purposes, a peeled and unvarnished wand may be best. During a healing, one may be engaged in a number of activities all at once: calling upon spirits, praying, chanting, holding the wand over the sick, drawing down energies or drawing them out. An unvarnished wand of bare wood that easily does this energy work while one’s focus is spread out in such a manner may be best. On the other hand, a wand dedicated to one’s specific, pointed use will do its master’s will, varnish or no varnish. Then, if varnished, the varnish might act as a “safety”, preventing the wand’s easy use in case anyone else should obtain the wand without permission.

Attack wand
My attack wand. Before God and the all the saints of heaven, asking their blessing and their help, I consecrated it today to execute my will with force, November 1, All Saints Day, naming it beraqim.

Do you send the lightning bolts (beraqim) on their way? Do they report to you, “Here we are”? (Job 38:35 )

